View Thread
Gongumenn | General | General Discussion
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Yutani
Buying new PC - Looking for help

Regular

Group: Klikan
Posted on 26-11-2006 03:39
I plan on ordering a computer from some danish online shop (perhaps shg.dk).
I am no hardware expert, so building my own computer has it's difficulties and any help would be appreciated.

I would like a mid priced (10.000 - 15.000 DKR) silent computer, that will be able to play most current games with ease. I would also like two raided hard drives for increased hard drive speed.

Here is where I am at sofar: (Links are to shg.dk's homepage and will open the appropriate index page. Then a pop-up with the item details will appear)

Case: ThermalTake - Armor LCS VE2000BWS
(Water cooling, jummy smiley)

Motherboard: MSI - P965-Platinum
(Got editors choice at some hardware review site.)

CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6400

Hard Drives: 2 x WD - 250.0 GB - SATAII-300 (Fluid)
Will I be able to RAID these two, with the MSI board. Or do I need another board or some extra equipment?

Graphics Card: OMG, I have no clue. How will it work with water cooling? Do I need to buy a passively cooled one? Do I need to buy one made by MSI to match my motherboard?

Ram: Kingston - 2 x 1024 MB DDR2-800, PC6400

Pluss some random good DVD burner and some random version of Windows.

pokertutor@gmail.com johan_the_big http://yutani222.blogspot.com/ Send Private Message
Lazarus
RE: Buying new PC - Looking for help

Initiate

Posted on 26-11-2006 06:05
Hi Johan

Well I would say that if this falls within the price range you like, take it, it looks good, smiley about the graphics card, I would take the second best from either NVIDIA or Ati Radion, because they perform about the same as each other and cost half of what the best do, the best of each brand only have some extra BS you'll never need, and they don't perform for the extra prize, brand vice it's only a matter of what you like best. smiley